Just found a Gibson guitar on ebay looks good but i’m no expert. What do you think?

ebay Just found a Gibson guitar on ebay looks good but im no expert. What do you think?
Mike asked:


http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Gibson-Maestro-Signiture-SG-Electric-Guitar-Wine-Red_W0QQitemZ140324803519QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Musical_Instruments_Guitars_CV?hash=item20ac0293bf&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12%7C66%3A2%7C39%3A1%7C72%3A2140%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50

3 Responses to “Just found a Gibson guitar on ebay looks good but i’m no expert. What do you think?”

  1. no i wouldnt buy it, and idk what the conversion is from w/e unit of money that is to USD but i wouldnt buy it cuz they didnt prove it was gibson except by putting it in the gibson box, and im not 100% sure, but in the US gibsons dont come in boxes, especially not that 1. they should at least show a pic of the headstock, which they dont, because it could be a fake gibson (yes ppl try to replicate gibsons)

  2. Let me correct my post ***. As one poster stated, the guitar is made by Maestro. Having said this, it is a spin-off of SG Gibson and i notied that the Truss Rod Cover states Gibson. So the power seller is not lying in the sense that this guitar is a low-priced guitar made in Singapore and to the specs of Gibson.

    For the money, you can’t go wrong but don’t expect the guitar to get better with time because it will not. As for the re-sale value, it would be next to nothing.

  3. It is a Gibson model, but not a real Gibson guitar. These are called Maestro, a brand owned and sold by the Gibson company.

    I do find it kind of strange that the seller doesn’t provide this obvious detail. A picture of the headstock would have showed this without any doubt. Rather than the Gibson logo, it says Maestro.

    These are cheap beginner guitars with bolt on necks, probably made in China.

    The guitar is obviously new but as others have said, most new and real Gibson US guitars come with a case, very few with a bag – none in a card board box.

    So even if this guitar comes from a Power Seller with a good score, I wouldn’t buy it for two reasons:
    A. It looks like a real cheap instrument and probably plays like one also.
    B. The seller tries to make it look like a real Gibson, something it obviously is not.

    Torbjorn

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.